



Call for Papers



MBC'13 – 1st Münster Bitcoin Conference

July 17 – 18, Münster, Germany

Important Dates

Initial submission:	May 31, 2013		
Reviews due:	June 15, 2013		
Camera-ready submission:	June 28, 2013		
Conference:	July 17-18, 2013		
Be aware that all deadlines are hard and will expire at midnight. No extensions will be allowed.			

A new era of currencies

Bitcoin is an innovative way of establishing digital money on the Internet. It is a decentralized electronic currency, which uses cryptographic primitives and distributed puzzle solving to ensure secure irrevocable transactions and protection against inflation. The conference will be held to discuss research questions in the area of Bitcoin. Topics include, but are not limited to, technical, economic, and social aspects emerging from the idea of decentralized crypocurrencies. This also inspired the theme of this year's conference: *"We are the currency!"*.

Tracks

We invite you to submit your paper to one of the following conference tracks:

- Anonymity of Bitcoin Payments *
- The Bitcoin Scripting Language *
- Arbitrage in the Bitcoin Ecosystem *
- Securing Bitcoin Business Transactions
- Bitcoin Mining and Secondary Market Effects
- Bitcoin Alternatives
- Bitcoin in the Public Discourse
- Risk Perception among Bitcoin Users
- Mining Pools and Participation Incentives
- Bitcoin Exchange Rates
- Success Factors for Bitcoin Exchanges

Tracks with a * invite papers authored by two persons, all other tracks invite single-author papers only.

Author guidelines

Authors should submit to the track that best fits their research. Research papers are limited to a length of 12 pages. All submissions must be original research not published anywhere else. To comply with the formatting requirements, use the Word/Latex template provided by the program chairs. Formatting bibliographies is best done with dedicated tools such as Mendeley or Bibtex. Note that a person can be author of only one paper, but some papers may be co-authored by two persons. All tracks allowing for co-authorship are marked with a *.

Ancillary Events

There will be three ancillary events accompanying the conference. First, there will be a series of *tutorials* introducing Bitcoin, the technical background to understand how it works, the history of payment systems in order to put Bitcoin into context, and finally and outlook on economic implications. The dates for these tutorials are:

- April 10, 2013 Introduction, Computer Science Theory
- April 17, 2013 Electronic Payment Systems
- April 24, 2013 The Bitcoin Protocol
- May 2, 2013 Economic Aspects of Bitcoin

The second ancillary event will be a *seminar consortium* covering all topics around writing a conference paper. You will be given advice on how to identify a concrete topic for your research papers, how to approach your research question, and how to structure and write the paper you will submit to the conference. The date for the seminar consortium is:

• April 16, 2013 Assignment of Topics, How to write a paper

The third type of ancillary events will be workshops whose purpose it is to consolidate and deepen your knowledge about Bitcoin. You will be introduced to useful tools available on the internet and will perform practical exercises to prepare you to do your own Bitcoin research. A brief examination will ensure your familiarity with the basics of Bitcoin. The dates are:

- April 30, 2013 Bitcoin-Tools
- May 7, 2013 Exercise sheet and exam preparation
- May 15, 2013 Exam

We are looking forward to welcoming you at MBC 2013 in Muenster! Besides the paper presentations, there will also be a social event on the final day of the conference. It will take place in Muenster's oldest student bar, the "Cavete". The fee for participation will be heavily depend on a person's desire / tolerance for alcohol ;)

The MBC 2013 conference chairs

Rainer Böhme, University of Muenster, rainer.boehme@wi.uni-muenster.de Dominic Breuker, University of Muenster, dominic.breuker@wi.uni-muenster.de

The MBC 2013 program committee

Dennis	Andreas	Christian	Marius	Lens	Malte
Assenmacher	Fuchs	Homberg	Lehne	Meiners	Möser
Andreas	Raimo	Ulrich	David	Tassilo	Lars
Petrow	Radczewski	Schmidt	Schuffla	Tobollik	van der Meer